Lila Erasmus

Candidate in the Tu Nedhé-Wiilideh race.

Lila can be reached on social media, at, or by calling (867) 447-1991.

News that mentions this candidate is listed at the bottom of the page.

Our candidate data retrieval process is available in our FAQ.

News that mentions Lila Erasmus

1 2

Richard Edjericon announces candidacy for Tu Nedhé-Wiilideh MLA

January 11, 2022

CBC North - Richard Edjericon announced Monday he will run for the Tu Nedhé-Wiilideh constituency in a byelection for the seat that represents Ndilo, Dettah, Łutselkʼe and Fort Resolution. Edjericon said he ran in Tu Nedhé-Wiilideh in 2019, and community members asked him to put his name forward again when he travelled to Fort Resolution. He said he has been involved in politics since 1988 and has worked as the YKDFN housing manager for more than five years, dealing with public housing, capital projects and construction. Edjericon said he will work closely with Indigenous governments on issues like land claims, housing, socioeconomic issues, trades training and education. His platform includes pushing for new residential lots and home construction in Dettah, Ndilo, Łutselkʼe and Fort Resolution.

Ernest Betsina to stand for election in Tu Nedhé-Wiilideh

January 8, 2022

Cabin Radio - Ernest Betsina, the former Chief of Ndilǫ, has joined Nadine Delorme and Steve Norn in announcing his intention to run in the forthcoming Tu Nedhé-Wiilideh by-election. His intended candidacy for the role of Tu Nedhé-Wiilideh MLA was first reported by the CBC. Betsina told Cabin Radio he would bring a “good track record” as a politician to the role if elected. The Tu Nedhé-Wiilideh by-election will be the NWT’s first to be held by mail-in ballot only, an accommodation designed to preserve safety during the ongoing Covid-19 pandemic. Tu Nedhé-Wiilideh encompasses four communities, in Ndilǫ, Dettah, Fort Resolution, and Łútsël K’é, between which travel is not always straightforward even without a pandemic.

Steve Norn reportedly will seek Tu Nedhé-Wiilideh re-election

January 7, 2022

Cabin Radio - Steve Norn is to seek re-election as MLA for Tu Nedhé-Wiilideh, NNSL reports, having had his seat declared vacant by colleagues late in 2021. Nothing in the NWT’s electoral legislation prevents Norn from seeking re-election despite being removed from the position in November. Without quoting Norn, NNSL said he had told a reporter he would seek re-election. Norn was elected with 230 votes in 2019’s territorial election. Richard Edjericon received 130 votes, Lila Fraser Erasmus 117, Paul Betsina 103, and Delorme nine.

Kicked out of NWT assembly, Steve Norn running in Tu Nedhé-Wiilideh by-election

January 7, 2022

NNSL Media - ...due to Covid-19 concerns. Norn was elected to the district for the first time in the 2019 election after a five way race against Richard Edjericon, Lila Erasmus, Paul Betsina, and Nadine Delorme-Simon. Delorme-Simon is the only other confirmed candidate who said on Jan. 4 that she will be running again in...

How NWT election candidates raised and spent their money

January 16, 2020

Cabin Radio - Detailed accounts of how candidates in last year's NWT election financed their campaigns have been published by Elections NWT. The spreadsheets show where each candidate's campaign contributions came from and how they spent the money, based on reports each candidate must file. In 10 of the 16 districts where campaigns were fought (three candidates were acclaimed unopposed), the candidate who raised the most money won. How candidates spent their money changed considerably depending on where in the NWT they were. In Yellowknife, very few candidates spent money on travel.

Norn wins Tu Nedhe-Wiilideh

October 1, 2019

NNSL Media - ...Tu Nedhe-Wiilideh. With 14 of 14 polls reporting on the NWT Elections website, Norn leads with 206 votes. Richard Edjericon with 130 placed second; Lila Erasmus took third with 117 votes. Paul Betsina has 103 votes. More to...

N.W.T. communities elect 8 new MLAs to 19th Assembly

October 1, 2019

CBC North - ...government employee and former RCMP officer. Nadine Delorme is an advocate, student and Sixties Scoop survivor. Paul Betsina is a Ndilo councillor. Lila Erasmus has worked for the territorial government and several Indigenous organizations. Richard Edjericon is a former Yellowknives Dene chief who has worked...

NWT Election 2019: All of Cabin Radio’s candidate interviews

September 28, 2019

Cabin Radio - On this page, find out more about each candidate and read full interviews to help you decide who gets your vote. At 8pm, Cabin Radio's rolling video coverage of the election results will begin via Facebook Live and simulcast on our live stream. She was not able to make herself available for a Cabin Radio interview. She was not able to make herself available for a Cabin Radio interview. A Cabin Radio interview with Holly could not be published.

Dene Nahjo election forum: Night One

September 23, 2019

CKLB 101.9 - Those are the themes at Dene Nahjo’s election forum that kicked off on Sunday evening. He said GNWT negotiators were bogged down with policies and mandates, and weren’t given any wiggle room to actually negotiate. Language opportunities for youthThe candidates were asked how they would support more language learning opportunities for youth. Earlier in the forum, she said the GNWT should have a bank of translators to allow residents to speak their language when using government services. The full stream of Sunday’s forum can be found below:’s forum will feature the candidates for Frame Lake, Yellowknife Centre and Range Lake.

58 race for MLA

September 7, 2019

NNSL Media - Elections NWT reports that figure includes three electoral districts settled by acclamation (Hay River North, Mackenzie Delta, and Monfwi). Nicole Latour, chief electoral officer of Elections NWT, said one of the big stories to take away from last week was the number of women that are standing for candidacy. “We are delighted with the number of women running,” said executive director Louise Elder. People were able to cast advance ballots starting Sept. 6 after nominees were either acclaimed or finalized. “Any election agency wants good turnout, but we are not really responsible for turnout,” Latour said.

1 2