Connie Benwell

Connie Benwell

Phone: 867-872-1133
No Election Site

Awaiting Questionnaire Response

Connie Benwell

Candidate in the Thebacha All Ridings race.

Connie can be reached at, or by calling 867-872-1133.

News that mentions this candidate is listed at the bottom of the page.

Our questionnaire and candidate data retrieval processes are available in our FAQ.

News that mentions Connie Benwell

Election 2023: Residents vote for change as seven incumbents ousted

November 15, 2023

CKLB 101.9 - Only four incumbents defeated their challengers as more than 10,000 cast their votes. New faces to the Legislative Assembly include former Yellowknife city councillors Julian Morse and Shauna Morgan, and deputy Mayor of Fort Smith Jay MacDonald. Also returning are several past MLAs who were defeated in the last election, including Yellowknife Centre’s Robert Hawkins, Range Lake’s Kieron Testart, and Sahtu’s Daniel McNeely. According to the unofficial results, just over 10,900 voters turned out for the election, or about one quarter of the population. Here are the unofficial results of the election, according to Elections NWT (bold indicates elected, * indicates incumbent).

Unofficial Election Results Provided by Elections NWT

November 15, 2023

My Yellow Knife Now - ... Range Lake: Aaron Reid 155 Nicole Sok 109 Kieron Testart 326 Sahtu: Paulie Chinna 226 Daniel McNeely 372 Delphine Pierrot 207 Thebacha: Connie Benwell 95 Jay MacDonald 483 Frieda Martselos 416 Tu Nedhe-Wiilideh: Nadine Delorme 33 Richard Edjericon 221 Yellowknife Centre: Ambe Chenemu 225 ...

In Thebacha, Jay Macdonald says he sought support from younger voters

November 15, 2023

Cabin Radio - ...MLA, defeating incumbent Frieda Martselos. Macdonald picked up 483 votes to Martselos’ 416, Elections NWT’s unofficial results stated, with Connie Benwell collecting 95 votes. He told Cabin Radio he had worked to gain the trust of younger voters aged 18 to 35, who he said “didn’t have a voice in...

Results start becoming clearer as last numbers roll in

November 14, 2023

NNSL Media - As the results start to roll in, we can start to safely make some calls. One race we can call for sure is in Nunakput as Lucy Kuptana is the MLA-elect for that riding. She looks to have defeated Vince Teddy according to the unofficial results but with all polls reporting, she has a nearly 200-vote lead. R.J. Simpson appears to be in control in Hay River North and Lucy Kuptana looks to be the MLA-elect in Nunakput. Rocky Simpson is also out as Vince McKay is the new MLA-elect in Hay River South.

NWT Election 2023: Jay Macdonald’s Thebacha interview

November 5, 2023

Cabin Radio - ...small engine mechanic in both the private and public sectors. Incumbent Frieda Martselos is seeking re-election to a second term in Thebacha. Connie Benwell is also running for the position. Interviews could not be arranged with either Martselos or Benwell. This interview was recorded on October 19,...

N.W.T. election candidate’s signs defaced with racist graffiti

November 2, 2023

CBC North - back up soon. He says there have been no other incidents reported since Saturday, involving his signs or those of the other Thebacha candidates, Connie Benwell or Frieda Martselos. Macdonald wants to find out who did the damage and ensure that it doesn't happen again. "We're in a democracy here and we're...

7 races to watch in the N.W.T. election

October 30, 2023

CBC North - ...where she lost to Lesa Semmler. Thebacha The Thebacha district will be a three-way race between incumbent Frieda Martselos, and challengers Connie Benwell and Jay Macdonald. Martselos won the 2019 election, pledging to keep Aurora College headquarters in Fort Smith. After being elected, she ran for...

The 2023 candidates: Thebacha

October 27, 2023

CBC North - their answers. We will add answers as we get them. Responses have been edited for clarity, but reflect the candidates' own words and views. Connie Benwell. (Submitted) Why are you running for office? Because I haven't been seeing anything being done in the past and I feel like I can do it, like I can...

Here’s who’s running for election on Nov. 14

October 20, 2023

NNSL Media - ... Lucy Kuptana Vince Teddy Range Lake Aaron Reid Nicole Sok Kieron Testart Sahtu Paulie Chinna Daniel McNeely Delphine Pierrot Thebacha Connie Benwell Jay MacDonald Frieda Martselos Tu Nedhé-Wiilideh Nadine Delorme Richard Edjericon Yellowknife Centre Ambelem Chenemu Robert Hawkins ...

Here’s an updated list of who’s running in the N.W.T. election

October 12, 2023

CBC North - ... Lucy Kuptana, Vince Teddy Range Lake Aaron Reid, Kieron Testart, Nicole Sok Sahtú Danny McNeely, Delphine Pierrot, Paulie Chinna* Thebacha Connie Benwell, Frieda Martselos*, Jay Macdonald Tu Nedhé-Wiilideh Richard Edjericon*, Nadine Delorme Yellowknife Centre Ambe Chenemu, Matt Spence, Robert...