Frieda Martselos

Frieda Martselos

Phone: (867) 621-0091
No Election Site

Frieda Martselos

Candidate in the Thebacha All Ridings race.

Frieda can be reached on social media, at, or by calling (867) 621-0091.

News that mentions this candidate is listed at the bottom of the page.

Our candidate data retrieval process is available in our FAQ.

News that mentions Frieda Martselos

1 2 6

In bid to break disabilities barriers, MLAs are called to act

December 5, 2019

NNSL Media - ...priorities posed, none have yet to formally committed to undertaking them. MLAs Katrina Nokleby, Julie Green, Caitlin Cleveland, Rylund Johnson, Frieda Martselos, and Kevin O’Reilly attended the Nov. 4 presentation, which was open to all MLAs. The council has since distributed the priorities to members not...

MLAs at Metis assembly for the first time in years

December 2, 2019

NNSL Media - ...of the Northwest Territory Metis Nation. This year, Education, Culture and Employment Minister R.J. Simpson showed up, along with Thebacha MLA Frieda Martselos, Tu Nedhe-Wiilideh MLA Steve Norn and Hay River South MLA Rocky Simpson. Bailey noted the people at the annual assembly were excited that the...

R.J. Simpson elected to cabinet

October 28, 2019

NNSL Media - the NWT Business Development and Investment Corporation. Cochrane’s selection as premier followed three rounds of voting by MLAs. Thebacha MLA Frieda Martselos was dropped after the first round and R.J. Simpson was dropped after the second. Monfwi MLA Jackson Lafferty lost the final vote to Cochrane. She...

Meet the NWT’s Wise Women of 2019

October 27, 2019

Cabin Radio - ... They join 119 women who have received the award since it began in 1992 – including present Commissioner of the NWT Margaret Thom, Thebacha MLA Frieda Martselos, and former MP Ethel Blondin-Andrew. Here is a short introduction to each of 2019's Wise Women. From the Beaufort Delta, Eunice Nasogaluak ...

Surprise, optimism, warnings: Leaders welcome Premier Cochrane

October 25, 2019

Cabin Radio - leader. Four people put their name forward for the position of premier: Cochrane, Lafferty, Hay River North's RJ Simpson, and Thebacha MLA Frieda Martselos. It took three rounds of voting to elect Cochrane, the MLA for Yellowknife's Range Lake. Advertisement. Cochrane's predecessor, Bob McLeod, led...

N.W.T.’s new premier will face big demands for change

October 25, 2019

CBC North - ...and lining up endorsements well before election day. In earlier rounds of voting, Lafferty successfully survived challenges from R.J. Simpson and Frieda Martselos — candidates who campaigned on changes to the status quo. And all had benefited from a campaign that gave voice to frustration over the flow of...

Here’s who will be in Caroline Cochrane’s NWT cabinet

October 24, 2019

Cabin Radio - ...Nokleby (Great Slave), Kevin O'Reilly (Frame Lake), and Wawzonek (Yellowknife South). In the South Slave and Dehcho, Ron Bonnetrouge (Deh Cho), Frieda Martselos (Thebacha), Simpson (Hay River North), and Thompson (Nahendeh) made bids for cabinet – Martselos and Simpson having been the first two knocked out...

Cochrane elected NWT Premier on third ballot

October 24, 2019

CKLB 101.9 - writing mandate letters to her ministers, and will be asking them “to do more than consult, but engage with communities.” Thebacha MLA Frieda Martselos lost on the first ballot, followed by Hay River North’s R.J. Simpson losing on the second ballot. It came down to Monfwi MLA Jackson Lafferty and...

11 candidates seek election to N.W.T. cabinet

October 24, 2019

CBC North - ...a seat in cabinet. From the south, Ronald Bonnetrouge (Deh Cho) and Shane Thompson (Nahendeh) are seeking a role. Unsuccessful premier candidates Frieda Martselos (Thebacha) and R.J. Simpson (Hay River North) are also running for a seat. From Yellowknife, Julie Green (Yellowknife Centre), Katrina Nokleby...

Caroline Cochrane becomes Canada’s only female premier

October 24, 2019

NNSL Media - ...Diane Thom of Inuvik Boot Lake, Paulie Chinna of Sahtu, and Jackie Jacobson of Nunakput. In the south, Nanehdeh’s Shane Thompson, Thebacha’s Frieda Martselos, Hay River North’s RJ Simpson, and Deh Cho’s Ronald Bonnetrouge, Shane Thompson. Blake acclaimed speaker Earlier in the day, Frederick Blake...

1 2 6